Jerry

Jerry – A name on its own or a nickname of Jeremiah, Jared, Jeremy, Geraldine, Gerald, and other Jer-ish names, Jerry means “sacred name” and “God has uplifted.” It can be for girls, usually spelled Jerri, and guys. Jerry can also mean inferior workmanship (as in Jerry-rigged). In British slang a Jerry is a chamber pot. Jerry is also what Germans and/or German soldiers were called during WW2.
~

Thoughts are made out of scarlet mud.
They slip. They crack. Sometimes they fade into puce dust.
I hid this one – right here- in your blood.

Thoughts made out of scarlet mud,
burnt dirt and iced tea,
I hid that one – right there. In your blood
I see you and me,

burnt dirt and iced tea,
Texas sun and Chicago snow.
I see you and me,
you in them, wherever we go.

Texas sun and Chicago snow,
please build me a skylight, so I won’t be so callous.
You and them, wherever we go
thoughts are made out of scarlet mud.

Leave a Reply

